The Machine Girl

The Machine girl (2008)

the_machine_girl_poster

From Imdb: Ami is a typical college girl. She’s bright, friendly, popular and athletic, with nothing to set her apart from other girls her age other than the fact that she is an orphan, left to care for her younger brother after her father committed suicide after being falsely accused of murder. But while there is tragedy in their past, the siblings’ future looks good, except for one thing. Ami’s brother has racked up a considerable debt to another boy at school, and that boy just happens to be the heir to a clan of vicious ninja-yakuza. Ami’s brother can’t pay, violence breaks out and in the course of trying to avenge her brother, Ami is captured by the clan. They torture her and hack her arm right off. Ami escapes, barely alive, and is taken in by the owners of a machine shop who build her a customized, bullet-spewing arm. From that point, the quest for revenge is on in earnest

The Machine Girl is a 2008 japanese movie directed by Noboru Iguchi. For some reason that is unknown to me, it keeps getting compared to Shaun of the Dead.. i really didn’t see it. And believe me, i tried hard, since Shaun of the Dead is just brilliant and knowing there was a movie out there just as good but with japanese schoolgirls (in uniforms!!) making a mess of blood and guts, was the best thing i had heard in a long time.

So definitely no, if you’re looking for smart sarcasm and real jokes, you’re not gonna like this. On the other side though.. come on guys! It’s a japanese schoogirl (in uniform!!!!!) with a mechanical arm shooting bullets and creating copious amounts of gore!! If you ask me, that is still amazing. Plus i don’t think you really need the smart plot to enjoy upskirt shots of a hot young killing machine.

or do you?

8 Responses to “The Machine Girl”

  1. hagiblog Says:

    Compared to Shaun of the Dead? How could anyone come up with that?

    This was one of the movies that got me into this Japanese gore scene that seems to be coming to the forefront lately. This one and Tetsuo: The Iron Man. Tetsuo is a mind screw with some really messed up scenes. I don’t know if you’ve seen it but it’s a great wacked out classic.

    Now, was there boob guns in this one or am I thinking of something else? Cause the director of this film did one called Sukeban Boy which I’ve glanced through and I’m pretty sure there was some boob guns in that one. Jeez, now I’ve got my brain thinking about all these crazy movies I should review!

  2. tokyo gore police had acid shooting boobs, the machine girl had the yakuza woman with the twister cutting bra thingy! both pretty amazing. ahah!

    i read a few reviews before watching it, and they all said “compared to shaun of the dead”. everybody failed miserably, tho. this is far from brilliant, but it’s still pretty fucking awesome.

    and Tetsuo.. ah.. where do i start. it’s a movie i love deeply. reminds me of my teenage years! definitely a classic.

  3. hagiblog Says:

    It must have been Sukeban Boy that had the boob guns! HAHA! Boob guns!

    This movie is awesome for what it is, a completely wacky, over the top, gore filled roller coaster ride.

    Now, does Tetsuo remind you of your teenage years in a good way like ‘Oh, I remember watching this years ago’ or a bad way like ‘Oh this reminds me of that person who kept trying to mutate me into some weird metal thrashing monster that tried to take over the world!’ HAHA!

  4. kabuki29 Says:

    Rather cool movie (the Machine Girl). I enjoyed it way more then Tokyo Gore Police. Although I watched TGP when I was really drunk so maybe I was missing the point.
    But Machine Girl is a good movie. I am happy it was not shown in the cinema. I think they would have thrown my friend and me out, cause we laughed so hard.

    Ps. Do you plan to talk about the MPD Psycho TV Show? I would really like to hear your opinion of it.

  5. i don’t think TGP has a specific point.. besides.. THE GORE! it’s pure bloody awesomeness. and yes, i will talk about mpd psycho at some point.. i still haven’t written anything about the vengeance trilogy because i like it too much to ruin it with my silly reviews.

  6. […] yet, but it will be soon. In the meantime, try other Nishimura movies like Tokyo Gore Police, or Machine Girl.  Full Review: coming […]

  7. JEEEEEEEEZ !!!

    I LOVE THIS MOVIE …

    HOPING TAHT THERE’S A PART 2 ^_^

  8. Seriously sick stuff.

Leave a Reply

